New Zealand Biosecurity Awards

The New Zealand Biosecurity Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to protecting our country

Much of what we do to protect our biodiversity in New Zealand is through biosecurity activity – from trapping rats in backyards to washing and disinfecting footwear when visiting our kauri forests.

The Awards acknowledge people and organisations across New Zealand who are contributing to biosecurity – in our communities, businesses, on-farm, on-orchard, iwi and hapū, government, in the bush and in our backyards.

If you or someone you know is doing great work to protect New Zealand against pests and diseases, it’s time to shine a light on their achievements.

Entries for the Awards are now open 18 June until 5pm 24 July 2019. Visit to find out more and enter.

New Zealand Biosecurity Award categories are:

  • Department of Conservation Community Pihinga Award
  • Department of Conservation Community Kahiwi Award
  • Te Puni Kōkiri Māori Award
  • GIA Industry Award
  • Eagle Technology Local and Central Government Award
  • Bio-protection Research Centre Science Award
  • Mondiale Innovation Award
  • AsureQuality Emerging Leader Award (open to nominations)
  • Minister’s Biosecurity Award (open to nominations)
  • Supreme Award (awarded to one of the category winners).

You can enter more than one category and it’s easy to enter online.